1. Skip to content

About the School Games


North Yorkshire School Games

The North Yorkshire School Games are designed to boost participation in competitive sport for young people by significantly enhancing the year round calendar of competitive school sport; including meaningful opportunities for disabled youngsters. The Games aim to positively impact on young people's school sport and PE experience and add significant value to the whole school agenda.

The Games provide quality opportunities for future leaders, reporters, commentators, announcers, photographers, musicians and artists to showcase their talent and develop their skills in a live event environment.

A comprehensive year round calendar of competitions is organised by School Games Organisers (SGOs) in each area. The winning schools from each district then progress to the county finals to represent their district team.

School Games opportunities will be provided in two different ways:

  • Competitive school sport - following a pathway from area level competition (level 2) through to a county final (and occasionally beyond) with the best schools taking part. In some sports a parallel opportunity will exist for small schools.
  • Development festivals - opportunities to engage those who may not be regularly active or selected in the school team.

Both of the above will have opportunities for young SEND pupils to participate alongside their school friends and as part of their school team.

Four levels of activity make up the games;

  1. Intra-School Competition (Level 1)
  2. Local Inter-School Competition (Level 2)
  3. County Final (Level 3)
  4. School Games National Finals

A School Games Organiser (SGO) supports the delivery of the School Games and Change4Life in schools across the country. There are roughly 450 SGOs across England.

The contact details for the North Yorkshire SGO's can be found below:

SGO Name

SSP

Email

Andy Pope

York School Sports Network - West

andypope14@hotmail.co.uk

Kevin Davies

York School Sports Network - East

pdminyork@hotmail.co.uk

Duncan Burgess (SGO)

Thirsk (Hambleton)

duncan.burgess@thirskschool.org

Andy Park (SGO)

Ryedale & Whitby

aparkssco@gmail.com

Debbie Speed (PDM)

Harrogate

dspeed@harrogatehighschool.co.uk

Ian Simons (SGO)

Craven

ian.simons@carleton-endowed.n-yorks.sch.uk

Mike Tildsley (SGO)

Scarborough

mike.tildsley@gps.n-yorks.sch.uk

Lynsey Carruthers

Risedale (Richmondshire)

lcarruthers@richmondschool.net

Stacey Howard

Selby

howards@holyfamilycarlton.org

Fran Nichol

Mowbray (Special Schools)

Fran.nichol@mowbray.n-yorks.sch.uk

Schools can sign up to take part in the games by visiting http://yourschoolgames.com/